A Psychic Comes Calling

When a psychic finds me in a coffee shop, she has a message from my dead husband.

Abigail Carter
5 min readMay 13, 2021
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

The panini’s had been ordered, and I had just gotten up to grab my “Blue Velvet,” a tea latte. A woman sitting at a table next to ours, asked, “Did your boyfriend or husband die recently?”

Here we go again, I thought.

Not recently,” I said. “And it was my husband.”

She introduced herself as Lisa, and told me she didn’t usually do this sort of thing, but that she was a psychic and had a message from my husband.

“He described you perfectly, so I knew it was you right away,” she said. “I was just driving along, and he told me I had to go to Luna Café and meet you. He had a message for you. Honestly, this has never happened before. I am new to this. I won’t charge you if you are interested in hearing his message.”

My husband’s mother was at the next table with the kids. I knew she would not take to this at all. She would immediately call bull$**t. Perhaps she is more pragmatic than I am. Perhaps I am just gullible. Perhaps I just want to believe so much that my husband is out there somewhere, and not just gone in the blink of an eye.

Of course, I immediately sat down with this woman, much to the bewilderment of my family…

--

--

Abigail Carter

Writing about widowhood, parenting, life, grief, art, writing and publishing. #singlemom #author #memoirist #writer #widow #9/11widow #artist